Fri. Dec 1st, 2023

Calgary Stampeders receiver Reggie Begelton is the 2023 recipient of the Herm Harrison Memorial Award.

Established in 2013, the annual award recognizes a Stampeders player for his outstanding community service. One of the franchise’s all-time greats, Herm Harrison played for the Stampeders from 1964-72 and was a West Division all-star on six occasions and a CFL all-star three times. Harrison remained in Calgary following his playing days and continued to support numerous community initiatives.

Since joining the Stampeders, Begelton has followed a similar path both on and off the field.

One of the team’s top performers on the field – his 82 catches lead the Canadian Football League and he is one of six players with 1,000 receiving yards – Begelton also shines off the field as an enthusiastic participant in numerous community events.

The 30-year-old product of Beaumont, Tex., is a regular participant in the Every Yard Counts program as he and several of his teammates visit the Alberta Children’s Hospital the day before every home game to spend time with young patients. In addition, the Stampeders invite a patient and their family to attend a game at McMahon Stadium and meet with players afterwards.

Begelton distinguished himself on these visits with his passion, enthusiasm and attentiveness. He brightened many a person’s day by visiting the Ronald McDonald House and ICU units.

Begelton also helped grow the game of football by participating in the Learn to Play program, helping coach flag football to kids aged 5 to 15. He was also involved in a KidsPlay football program for the South Asian and New Canadian communities.

In addition, Begelton supported numerous local charities and organizations such as Tim Hortons Camp Days, Wellsprings Alberta and the Salvation Army Coat Drive with visits and social-media posts.

“God blesses you so that you can bless others,” said Begelton, who is in his sixth season with the Red and White. “Without the community, we athletes would be nothing. To be able to give back, however I can, grants me the privilege of being able to step on that field and play freely, knowing that God called me here.”

Past winners of the Herm Harrison Memorial Award include Rob Cote (2013), Randy Chevrier (2014), Bo Levi Mitchell (2015, 2016), Joshua Bell (2017), Rob Maver (2018, 2019), Kamar Jorden (2021) and Colton Hunchak (2022).

By admin

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *